Malaysian Indian Congress (MIC)

Largest Indian based political party. Founded in 1946, MIC has been plunged with leadership struggle from its inception.

1954 - Joined Alliance, a coalition of UMNO and MCA.  Since then has been a component of ruling National Front Coalition. 
Current President: Sami Velu
Deputy President: S. Subramaniam

Vice Presidents:

Veerasingam, Palanivel, K. S. Nijar 
# of Branches: 3000 
Membership: 600,000

All the Presidents Year
John Thivi

1946 -1947

Sardar Booth Singh

1947 - 1950

K. Ramanathan Chetty
1950 - 1951
Kundanlal Thevasar 1951 - 1955
V.T. Sambanthan 1955 - 1973
Manikavasagam 1973 - 1979
Sami Velu 1979 - present
mic election battla Activities
  • Launched National Land Finance Cooperative Society (NLFCS) in 1960 to buy Estates. At that time, unemployment and eviction from homes occurred when estates were sold to locals cheaply who in turn fragment them and sell it for profit.

  • Launched the much hyped Maika Holdings in 1980 with RM 100 million raised from the Indian community. 

Indian Progressive Front (IPF)
Founded by M. G. Pandithan, an expelled former MIC vice-president in 1988. Begging to join the ruling National Front (NF) since then but has been blocked by MIC. 
Current President:   M. G. Pandithan
Deputy President:  
# of Branches:    
Membership:    380,000


  • Presenting a Mercedes Benz to M. G. Pandithan from funds raised by members.

  • Organizing cultural shows throughout the country.

People Progressive Front (PPP)

Founded by Seenivasagam. Memeber of National Front.
Current President:   Keviyas
Deputy President:  
# of Branches:    
Membership:    300,000






Home >> Politics >> MIC
Send mail to sound2020@hotmail.com with questions or comments about this web site.
Copyright 1998 Kumar Soundrapandian